Another crochet masterpiece in progress.

Corner to Corner Afghan

The next project I am just finishing is a corner to corner afghan.     It is very quick to do and looks great.  Each square is  four stitches and you are crocheting into the end stitch when making the following square.

IMG_0115   You start at one corner and increase each row until you have the width of the afghan you want.  Then you only increase on one side of the afghan until you have the length you want.

IMG_0117  In this picture you can see that after the green stripe I started on the dark blue and decided that the project had reached width I wanted.  To get the length I continued increasing on one side only.  This created a corner on one side, but the bottom side keeps growing.

IMG_0120 Once I have the desired length I stop increasing and as I am following a straight edge I actually start decreasing the length of the rows until I finish back in a corner.  You can also just make out in the photo that you get a nice zig-zag when you change colours.  I have tried to be random with the colour changes and thrifty with the yarn, but for a cleaner look you should change the colour at the end of the row.

All that is left is to sew in the ends.

This example is long and thin as I will be using it as a chair cover.

IMG_0122

So you probably want these links to the  corner to corner pattern  and perhaps a video from Red Heart.com?

This pattern would look great on cushions.  I am considering using up scrap wool to make a scarf this way.

